Cerberus Unchained

I could only hold back for so long

go slow for so long

stroll through these ruined streets

for so long

ignore the calander

for so long

circle the drain for so long

until I cracked the whip

and let my beasts run free

snarling, growling, snapping at the shadows that race by

” Out of the way!” they spat

to the

uncaring   cries of

” Come back

slow down

where are you taking the sweet, slow and patient woman we called friend?”

 

Far away, look straight ahead

leave the corpses of my yesterdays behind

in unmarked graves with plastic flowers and moldering teddy bears

Will anyone visit them?

 

Maybe.

 

But that someone won’t be me.

 

Trains of The Journal Project- The Chariot

2 thoughts on “Cerberus Unchained

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.